the London Agreement has dispensed with the need to provide full translations of granted European patents in many European countries - this streamlined process has significantly reduced the costs of validation of granted European patents

Some countries have dispensed with the translation requirements:


France, Germany, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Switzerland, United Kingdom.


Other countries may, under certain circumstances, dispense with the requirement to translate the description and limit the translation requirement to the claims only.


Further information on the specific requirements of each country can be accessed here: